New Reviewer
Explore video interviews
Original review updated by user May 02, 2021
The EMT was very rude, unprofessional, lacked ethics. Literally stomped on a new purse that I had just received. Did not allow me to ride in the ambulance with my significant other although I had a mask on. Took my significant others State identification out of my hand...
View full review
View full review
2 comments
#2059776

AMR may be a lousy company (and judging from reviews they likely are), but please don’t attribute racism to a company or employee without more facts. That is a strong allegation to throw around, and it’s done far too easily lately. It appears AMR gives lots of people crummy service.

View more comments
Featured
ID
#2530714 Review #2530714 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Las Vegas, Nevada
Service
American Medical Response Emergency Service
Pros
  • Transportation
Cons
  • Service
  • Being lied to and scammed
  • Bad customer service
Loss
$100
Preferred solution
Full refund
Most helpful review
That is EXACTLY what happened to me! I gave them the insurance info as soon as they sent me the request. A week later, they sent a late notice without sending me an invoice. They're impossible to reach by phone, on hold for 30 minutes could not get through. I spoke to...
View full review
View full review
15 comments
#1797200

On June 10, 2019 I had a terrible Head Injury in my back-yard. Our Fire dept were the FIRST RESPONDERS then AMR Ambulance arrived.

The AMR Ambulance Driver and the AMR Paramedic were TOLD by the Roseville Fire Dept. my hsuband of 58 years and our daughter who, lives with us to take me to KAISER EMERGENCY that I am a very happy and long time patient of Kaiser Permanente. Instead the AMR Driver and teh AMR Paramedic took it upon themselves to take me to "Sutter Emergency" instead. I lay on a GURNEY for 8 HOURS NOT once did a DOCTOR or a NURSE ever look at me BLOOD was coming lour my MOUTH my NOSE and RUNNING DOWN my TROAT all the AMR PARAMEDIC gave me was PAPER TOWELS/TISSUE PAPER to SPIT the BLOOD into it I had fallen over my garden hose and the Nozzle of the Garden Hose Puncutered the Left side of my SCULL infect the whole Left side of my Body was terribly injured.

All that was done an X-Ray of my knee and a CatScan of my head After 8 hours for the FIRST time we saw a doctor he didn't even spend 10 minutes with my husband and myself. While my husband was getting his car a Young Sutter Employee put me into a WHEEL CHAIR and PUSHED me out-side into OVER A HUNDRED DEGREE HEAT I am 81 years old I was completely Dehydrated, Loss of Blood NOTHING to EAT the whole day.

If it would have taken my husband any longer to get his car I WOULD NOT HAVE SURVIVED THIS BEING IN THIS OVER A HUNDRED DEGREE HEAT On top I received a BILL for over $12,500 thousand dollars FOR WHAT Charging me for a PRIVATE ROOM--WHAT P:RIVATE ROOM??? My "private" room was LAYING ON A GURNEY IN A HALL WAY for OVER EIGHT HOURS Ingrid Huber Rosevilel Ca 95661 9**-**5-4131 ingridcroissant@***.net P/S Don't we have any more PROTECTION from these CRIMINALS called WALLSTREET

View more comments
ID
#1172810 Review #1172810 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
American Medical Response Customer Care
Reason of review
Problems with payment
New Reviewer
The ABSOLUTE WORST ambulance company I have ever had the misfortune to deal with, and that is saying something. $900+ for a 6-mile ambulance ride, at least two instances of balance billing after my insurance company paid out, and they REFUSED TO ALLOW payment on my...
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#2145738

What does your health insurance cover as far as ambulance rides?

ID
#3395862 Review #3395862 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Austin, Texas
Service
American Medical Response Customer Care
Cons
  • Expensive
  • Severe issues with billing
Preferred solution
Full write off of my outstanding account balance and a written apology

Continuous Billing Despite Paying Bill

I get contacted by AMR (via email, texts, phone) 2 or 3 times a week to pay a bill I have confirmation of already paying 8 weeks ago. Despite numerous replies and proof of payment, it never ends. They obviously have some serious flaws in their billing practices. American Medical Response Thank you! Your payment was received Please find confirmation of your transaction. Amount paid$162.99 Confirmation numberPA-1646-71**-**11 Date paidDecember 30, 2021 ProviderAmerican Medical Response

User's recommendation: Avoid AMR like you avoid Covid!

View full review
ID
#3372776 Review #3372776 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Mountain View, California

Reckless in people homes

They came in my home and damaged it! $1,000 worth / as well as rude! As well as question about their job abilities!

User's recommendation: Beware/ damage on file as well as pictures.

View full review
ID
#3267041 Review #3267041 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Gulfport, Mississippi

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Insurance information

I have a letter from AMR requesting my insurance for a December 5, 2021 ambulance ride. I called the number on the letter but it sounded like it would take forever to talk to a person. I would like to give AMR that information. Virginia Henion Trip Number: 603-117****0-00
View full review
ID
#3247143 Review #3247143 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Preferred solution
I would like to give AMR my insurance info

Support

These EMT's have saved my life more than 3x. If this is what AMR is charging for transport and medical attention, then they need to pay their EMT's more! They are the backbone to that company. I was an EMT on call, but I had to quit because I was only making minimum wage and could not support my children on that wage. I was making 10.55 an hour at another job. I would have loved to have made a career out of being an emt, but it was not feasible to quit my other job that supported my family.

User's recommendation: Stay alive no matter what it cost. They will work with you.

View full review
ID
#3108453 Review #3108453 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Spokane, Washington

Over billed

I was dealing with chemotherapy for the 2nd time and was very I'll, I had to use an ambulance 3 times in 2018 due to being so sick from the medication. I never called an Ambulance just because. I was following orders from my doctor and in my greatest time in need my insurance which was Medicare due to being disabled, did not cover any of the rides. I have paid what I can but it still sits in my credit report unpaid because I chose to pay for medication to stay alive. Why is this possible

User's recommendation: Find a ride from anyone idc if you have to beg your neighbor. A 15 minute ride cost me 3,000.

View full review
3 comments
#2065256

Because we have Republicans in Washington that don't care about health care. I'm sorry for your trouble.

#2071013
@PissedConsumer2065256

Inappropriate comment, this is not about politics

#2071019
@PissedConsumer2071013

He's stooooopid. He doesn't know any better.

View more comments (2)
ID
#2886059 Review #2886059 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Fairport, New York

Ridiculous Charge

Hospital Emergency Room personnel requested authorization for helicopter transport to other hospital. Granted. Later got $1000+ bill from AMR for ambulance service. Bill was questioned, asking for details about where to where. Response was from xxx avenue to ER campus, actually same location. Refused to pay. happens

User's recommendation: Watch out for AMR excessive or improper billing.

View full review
ID
#2885788 Review #2885788 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Athens, Tennessee
New Reviewer

They Suck

I was intemidate into a payment plan while waiting for insurance to complete my claim. Got on said payment plan and now they are threatening me with collections because I owe less then the monthly payment amount and they don't know how to make that work. I attempt to make payments to them and they won't accept them. NEVER AGAIN - LET ME DIE IN THE STREET!

User's recommendation: USE ANOTHER COMPANY!!!

View full review
ID
#2861654 Review #2861654 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Brookland, Virginia
Pros
  • Emts were great
Cons
  • Being lied to and scammed
  • Severe issues with billing
Preferred solution
Apology

Sometimes, we just have a question to ask a real live person.

I don't remember the specifics. I know I was trying to obtain medical records and billing for a client, and was unable to find a working phone number or address or email. No one has contacted me.

User's recommendation: Laugh it off!

View full review
ID
#2831405 Review #2831405 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Atlanta, Georgia

COVID TEST

DO NOT GO TO AMR @ EASTFIELD MALL FOR COVID TEST, YOU WILL NOT GET RESULTS THIS COMPANY SHOULD GO OUT OF BUSINESS

User's recommendation: STAY AWAY.

View full review
ID
#2801959 Review #2801959 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Good service, unable to contact them

I tried several times to call the customer line, was unable to because the number kept on asking for my contact info but wouldn't accept it.

User's recommendation: Get a business card from the ambulance service.

View full review
ID
#2783783 Review #2783783 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Pasadena, California

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Billing question

I dont have a job to pay this amount , also I dont have money , what could I do ? I need an answer please
View full review
1 comment
#2062128

They can waiver your bill. Contact the billing Dept at the hospital

ID
#2781274 Review #2781274 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Chula Vista, California
Service
American Medical Response Emergency Service
Pros
  • Transportation
Preferred solution
Price reduction

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Billing question

i dont have job and money for pay my bill , what could I do? I think that also a dont hace an insurance
View full review
ID
#2781256 Review #2781256 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Tijuana, Baja California
New Reviewer

Medical billing

Medical billing was received but was not billed to insurance company, instead was turned over to collection agency. Contacted collection agency, who in return build insurance and was paid the biggest portion of the bill. However the remaining portion of the bill was never sent to the patient, instead a bill was received for the remaining balance from the call
View full review
1 comment
#2062129

Contact consumer affairs in your state. State insurance dept that monitor complaints for all types of insurance, such as, auto, life and health insurance complaints.

This is the place here in Arkansas but you should have one in your state.

See if you have a Dept in your state. "How to File a Complaint with the Arkansas Department of Insurance About Your Delaying, Denying, and Bad Treating Insurance Company"

ID
#2780961 Review #2780961 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Diamond Bar, California
New Reviewer

Return Over Payment on Trip #122-200****3-00

on 11/23/2020 I called AMR to take me to hospital Received bill on 01/12/2021 for $1,511.32 My insurance didn't pay so I payed $1,511.32 I filed an appeal to insurance and was approved. Insurance sent to AMR the required amount on 03/01/2021 I called AMR to return my payment $1511.31 - $250.00 I still haven't received any of my money Jennie Bauer 08/14/2020

User's recommendation: Don't pay AMR until insurance is clear on Amount you have to pay.

View full review
1 comment
#2062130

See if you have a insurance depart that help resolve billing issues with companies. Here in arka6 we have a depart.

We have a Depart that looks into any insurance issues. Life, auto and health. See if your state has Department of insurance.

This is the site here. "How to File a Complaint with the Arkansas Department of Insurance About Your Delaying, Denying, and Bad Treating Insurance Company

ID
#2774171 Review #2774171 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Longmont, Colorado
Loss
$1261
Preferred solution
Full refund

Brands Related to American Medical Response

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article